• standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering

Route Setting Team

LAURENT "LARRY" LAPORTE (FRA)

Laurent has been route setting for over 20 years. Although he doesn’t remember exactly when or how it all started, he knows exactly why setting is still his passion: he loves being creative. He likes to try out his problems, he enjoys the exciting atmosphere at competitions and appreciates the relieve afterwards. Laurent set routes for six world championships and several world cups. For the Frenchman, every competition is a new challenge. For him, the difficulty in setting a good route lies in playing with the rhythms and to continue to search for new concepts to always be able to put on a good show. In his spare time, Larry wood carves, listens to Nirvana and AC/DC or simply rides the wave of his life. Laurent also takes care of the next generation of his craft. His son Mateo has been supporting the route setter team of adidas ROCKSTARS for several years now and his daughter Marie will set the boulder problems for this year’s Ticket to Rockstars Women Only at the Rockerei (Stuttgart). 

MATEO LAPORTE (FRA)

The apple didn’t fall far from the tree in this route setting family. The Laporte’s are practically royalty in the world of route setting and as Larry continues to be at the forefront of change in the sport, his son Mateo is always by his side. He has been helping set routes for adidas ROCKSTARS since 2012 and can’t imagine a life without his passion of climbing. He works half of the time as a programmer and the other half as a route setter but he most loves to lead climb in his home country of France and all around Europe. He is an accomplished climber and boulderer and will undoubtedly keep the name of Laporte in the sport of climbing for many years to come. 

ADAM PUSTLNIK

Adam is originally from Poland but feels like he belongs everywhere and is at home anywhere. Adam has been climbing for more than 20 years and that is pretty much what his life is all about. He is currently working as routesetter, translator, teacher, and writer. During the past 10 years, Adam was able to work as head route setter for national and international competitions like World Cups, Youth World Championships and the 2012 IFSC World Championship in Paris. Since 2007, Adam has been instructing and managing Polish route setters. What makes him enjoy route setting? "First of all the aspect of creating something new that we want to see them play with. So one of the main values is being creative. Furthermore my inspiration that climbing gives me. It's that kind of job that motivates you. And I really enjoy working in teams, which can be quite spiritual work as we exchange experiences." Route setting is just one of Adam's climbing activities, but it is the one he can think of as a job and, what's more important, it keeps him connected to the competition community. In his spare time he is doing a lot of sport climbing, traditional and big wall climbing. And that's where Adam sees his climbing goals. Setting lets him see everything from a different side and a more professional angle.

MANUEL HASSLER (SUI)

Manuel has been setting routes for bouldering competitions for over 10 years. The Swiss national has worked at boulder world cups in Japan, US, Italy, France, Poland, the Netherlands, Germany, La Réunion, Russia, and of course in Switzerland. He was part of the route setter team at the World Championships in Arco (ITA) and Munich (GER). In 2013, Manuel spent two months in Japan to set training routes for the Japanese national team. He seized the opportunity to climb the famous 8B route Bansousha of Tokio Muroi in Ogawayama. In 2012, he founded, together with Mathieu Achermann, the Flathold GmbH and, as Master Shaper, continuously creates new holds that were also featured at the Outdoor Messe at Friedrichshafen. 

MÉLISSA LE NEVÉ

Mélissa is among the best and most famous female boulder athletes in France. She knows adidas ROCKSTARS intimately from a participant’s perspective because she has been invited over and over when she was an active athlete. 2014 she reached the final, but 2016 she finished her career as competing athlete to focus fully on outdoor climbing. She is the first female to climb a difficulty of 8B+ at Fountaineblau – an achievement that is respected all over the world, since the boulder in the forest is supposed to teach humility before all else. Mélissa has had a career of 8 years at the top of the international boulder elite. Now she wants to dive into climbing further and with route setting she has found another opportunity to show her passion for her sports as well as demonstrate her creativity. 

FELIX BUCHMANN (GER)

Felix has been setting boulder routes in several climbing gyms for almost a decade, mainly in Southern Germany. He has worked as official DAV (German Alpine Club) route setter for many competitions like CLIMB F.R.E.E. at the Munich Fair or the Bavarian Championships. In addition, Felix organizes and sets amateur contests for his DAV home division. His best achievements in competition bouldering include a second place at Gore-Tex® Be a Rockstar 2013 as well as a fourth place in the German University Championship in the same year. Outdoors he has bouldered and climbed 7c+ routes flash and on-sight both. After so many years of route setting he is still driven by the same motivation that makes sports climbing so unique: the combination of creativity and athletic achievement, the sheer endless diversity of movement and climbing styles and the fact that you never stop learning.

TOMASZ "TOMA" OLEKSY

Toma is one of the most successful athletes in Polish sport climbing history. He participated in competitions for over 20 years in all three disciplines. His favorite discipline is bouldering, in which he won many supreme titles. In 2003, he began with route setting. Since 2012 he has been working regularly for the IFSC as route setter - mainly for bouldering competitions, although he feels confident in lead as well.
In 2015, Toma decided to earn his living with route setting and he is glad to have turned his passion into a career. Most of the time you can find him creating new boulders in several bouldering gyms in Germany (e.g. Studio Bloc, OstBloc, SüdBloc, …). Tomasz is the director of the climbing division of “MKS Tarnovia” where he trains children and young people. He also works as organizer of many climbing competitions in his hometown Tarnów. In the future, he would like to open his own climbing gym and have more time for outdoor bouldering.
Tomasz says “whenever styling new challenges, especially for competitions, creativity, resistance to fatigue and good shape are necessary attributes for every route setter. Without those it would be difficult to perform in this unusual profession at such a high level.”    

KATRIN "KADDI" LEHMANN (GER)

„Kaddi“ has been climbing for 15 years. Ever since she started the sport she can no longer imagine a life without. In the beginning she successfully participated in Lead and Bouldering competitions where she always ended up on the podium. After graduating from school, she took off for an extensive climbing trip, which aroused her passion for rock climbing. Kaddi spends most of her time in Fontainebleau, her favourite ‘climbing school’ among bouldering areas, because there you can always learn something new. She loves South Africa’s Rocklands, too, since the area offers so many beautiful lines and so many new boulders to discover and send.
When Kaddi is not climbing on rock, she sets routes for competitions. She is an official German Alpine Cup route setter, but also sets regular boulders for gyms or fun competitions. Kaddi has been on the setter team for the Swiss Bouldering Championships a few times. She enjoys the creativity that’s involved in route setting. “You can build something cool onto the wall and try it. It’s always thrilling to see whether a problem can be solved during a competition. Climbing and route setting never gets boring, because it involves so many different moves. No climbing move is like the other.”

TSUKURU HORI (JPN)

Tsukuru is the second router setter in the team that has already experienced adidas ROCKSTARS as pro athlete. In 2013, he placed 10thin Stuttgart. Tsukuru started climbing at the age of elven. He has been a member of the Japanese national team for over a decade, always ranking in the top 15 at World Cups and World Championships. In 2015, he won the Asian Continental Championships ahead of his talented young team mates Keita Watabe, Rei Sugimonto and Tomoa Narasaki. Meanwhile, the 28-year old has started to establish a sound basis for his after-sports career. He works as route setter and as Japanese distributor for the Swiss company Flathold, who say about him “he is as attentive to shapes as to how he intends to use them in training, and he always stays up to date. Even though he is first and foremost a competition climber, his performances on rock speak for themselves such as his ascent of Memento in Austria or Takakimikura in Japan, both 8b+.”

• standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering
  • standard responsive image rendering

Routenbauer Team

LAURENT "LARRY" LAPORTE (FRA)

Laurent hat über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Routenbau. Er kann sich zwar nicht mehr genau erinnern, wie er mal dazu kam, weiß jedoch genau, warum er immer noch leidenschaftlich schraubt: er hat Spaß daran, kreativ zu sein. Ihm gefällt es, seine Boulder selbst zu versuchen, ihn reizt die Anspannung während eines Wettkampfs und er liebt die Erleichterung danach. Laurent hat bereits für sechs Weltmeisterschaften und diverse Weltcups Routen geschraubt. Für den Franzosen ist jeder Wettkampf eine neue Herausforderung. Die größte Schwierigkeit, eine gute Route zu setzen, liegt seiner Meinung nach darin, mit dem Rhythmus zu spielen und immer wieder nach neuen Konzepten zu suchen, um eine gute Show schrauben zu können. In seiner Freizeit schnitzt Larry Klettergriffe, hört Nirvana und AC/DC, oder surft einfach auf der Welle seines Lebens. Laporte sorgt auch für die nächste Generation seiner Zunft. Sein Sohn Mateo unterstützt bereits seit einigen Jahren das adidas ROCKSTARS-Team als Nachwuchs-Schrauber und Tocher Marie wird dieses Jahr die Boulderprobleme für das Ticket to Rockstars Women Only in der Rockerei (Stuttgart) setzen. 

MATEO LAPORTE (FRA)

Der Apfel fällt bekanntlich nicht weit vom Stamm. Da macht die „Routenbauer-Familie“ Laporte keine Ausnahme und spielt diesbezüglich seit Jahren in der Champions League. Während Vater Laurent seit über 20 Jahren als innovative Triebfeder immer wieder neue Möglichkeiten des Routenbaus auslotet und den Sport somit stetig weiterentwickelt, arbeitet sein Sohn Mateo seit 2012 zunehmend an seiner Seite. Der 20-Jährige kann sich ein Leben ohne seine große Leidenschaft – den Klettersport – mittlerweile gar nicht mehr vorstellen. Daher hat er einen Halbtagsjob als Programmierer angenommen und kann so die verbliebene Zeit als Routenbauer arbeiten. Am meisten liebt er aber das eigene Lead-Klettern in seiner französischen Heimat und in ganz Europa. Mateo ist selbst ein versierter Kletterer und Boulderer, und es besteht kein Zweifel, dass er den Namen „Laporte“ innerhalb der Sportkletterszene in den nächsten Jahrzehnten hochhalten wird.

ADAM PUSTELNIK

Adam kommt ursprünglich aus Polen, fühlt sich aber auf der ganzen Welt zu Hause. Er klettert bereits seit über 20 Jahren und in seinem Leben dreht sich so gut wie alles um diesen Sport. Derzeit arbeitet er als Routenbauer, Übersetzer, Lehrer und Autor. Während den letzten 10 Jahre war er schon für viele nationale und internationale Wettkämpfe als Routenbauer im Einsatz, wie z.B. Weltcups, Jugend- Weltmeisterschaften oder die Weltmeisterschaft 2012 in Paris. Seit 2007 unterrichtet und betreut er das polnische Routenbauer-Team. Er liebt den Aspekt, etwas Neues zu schaffen, um nachher zu sehen, wie sich die Kletterer daran spielen. Es macht ihm Spaß, kreativ zu sein. Klettern gibt ihm Inspiration und motiviert ihn immer wieder neu. Und er schätzt die Teamarbeit, die bisweilen sehr spirituell sein kann, weil man gegenseitig Erfahrungen austauscht. Natürlich ist Routenschrauben nur eine von Adams vielen Kletteraktivitäten, jedoch die einzige, die er sich auch als Beruf vorstellen kann. Beim Routenbauen sieht er seinen Sport aus einem anderen und professionelleren Blickwinkel. Außerdem bleibt er in engem Kontakt mit der Wettkampfszene. Selbst klettert Adam gerne traditionell und an großen Wänden. Auch im Sportklettern hat er sich einige Ziele gesetzt, die er noch erreichen möchte

MANUEL HASSLER (SUI)

Manuel hat über 10 Jahre Erfahrung als Routenbauer bei Boulderwettkämpfen. Der Schweizer war bereits bei Boulder Weltcups in Japan, den USA, Italien, Frankreich, Polen, Holland, Deutschland, La Réunion, Russland und natürlich in seinem Heimatland Schweiz im Einsatz. Er war Mitglied des Routenbauerteams bei der WM in Arco und er hat auch bei der WM in München die Boulder gebaut. 2013 verbrachte Manuel zwei Monate in Japan, um für die japanische Nationalmannschaft Trainingsrouten zu setzen. Er nutzte die einmalige Gelegenheit, um in Japan die bekannte Platte Bansousha (8b) von Tokio Muroi in Ogawayama zu wiederholen. 2012 gründete er mit Mathieu Achermann in Biel die Flathold GmbH und kreiert als Master Shaper immer neue Griffe, die man auch schon auf der Outdoormesse in Friedrichshafen bewundern konnte.

MELISSA LE NEVÉ (FRA)

Melissa zählt zu besten und bekanntesten Boulderinnen Frankreichs. Sie kennt adidas ROCKSTARS bisher vorwiegend aus der Athletenperspektive, denn als Top-Weltcup-Performerin bekam sie Jahr für Jahr eine Einladung. 2014 schaffte sie es ins Finale. Zwei Jahre später hängte sie ihre Wettkampfschuhe an den Nagel, um sich ganz auf das Outdoorbouldern zu konzentrieren. Sie ist die erste Frau, der es gelang, in Fontaineblau den Schwierigkeitsgrad 8b+ zu klettern – eine weltweit respektierte Leistung, denn der Fels in diesem Wald soll Demut lehren, so sagt man. Mélissa hielt sich acht Jahre lang an der Spitze bei internationalen Wettkämpfen. Jetzt möchte sie sich weiterentwickeln und hat im Routenbau eine neue Möglichkeit gefunden, sowohl ihre Leidenschaft für den Sport als auch ihre Kreativität auszuleben.

FELIX BUCHMANN (GER)

Felix schraubt seit gut zehn Jahren Routen und Boulder in "allen möglichen" Hallen, hauptsächlich in Süddeutschland, sowohl kommerziell, als auch als offizieller DAV-Routenbauer auf Wettkämpfen, etwa die CLIMB F.R.E.E. auf der Messe München oder die bayerischen Meisterschaften. Nebenbei organisiert und schraubt er Jedermannwettkämpfe für seine Heimatsektion des DAV. Seine größten Erfolge im Wettkampfbouldern sind ein zweiter Platz bei Gore-Tex® Be a Rockstar 2013 sowie ein vierter Platz bei der deutschen Hochschulmeisterschaft im selben Jahr. Sowohl bouldernd als auch kletternd hat Felix am Fels bis 7c+ geflashed bzw. geonsighted. Auch nach vielen Jahren Routenbau treibt ihn dieselbe Motivation, die den gesamten Klettersport so einzigartig macht: Die Verbindung von Kreativität mit sportlicher Leistung, die schier unendliche Vielfalt an Bewegungen und Kletterstilen und die Tatsache, niemals ausgelernt zu haben.

TOMASZ "TOMA" OLEKSY (POL)

Tomasz ist einer der erfolgreichsten Athleten in der Geschichte des polnischen Klettersports. Mehr als 20 Jahre lang ist er in allen drei Disziplinen des Kletterns in Wettkämpfen angetreten. Seine Lieblingsdisziplin ist das Bouldern, wo er etliche Titel gewann. Im Jahr 2003 sammelte Toma erste Erfahrungen im Routenbau. Seit 2012 arbeitet er regelmäßig für die IFSC als Routenbauer - überwiegend bei Boulder-Wettkämpfen, obwohl er sich auch im Lead sehr wohl fühlt. 
Im Jahr 2015 entschied sich Toma dazu seine Leidenschaft zum Beruf zu machen und seinen Lebensunterhalt mit Routenbau zu verdienen. Häufig trifft man Tomasz beim Routenbau in deutschen Boulderhallen an (z.B. Studio Bloc, OstBloc, SüdBloc, ...). Zudem engagiert sich Tomasz als Leiter der Kletterabteilung vom "MKS Tarnovia", wo er Kinder und junge Erwachsene trainiert. In der Vergangenheit hat er schon einige Kletter-Wettkämpfe in seiner Heimatstadt Tarnów organisiert. In der Zukunft möchte Tomasz gerne eine eigene Halle eröffnen und mehr Zeit für das Bouldern am Fels finden.
Tomasz meint, "Kreativität, Unempfindlichkeit gegenüber Müdigkeit und eine gute körperliche Verfassung sind wichtige Attribute für jeden Routenschrauber, wenn es darum geht neue Herausforderungen zu kreieren, insbesondere für Wettkämpfe. Ohne diese Eigenschaften wäre es schwer diesen außergewöhnlichen Beruf auf so einem hohen Niveau auszuüben."

KATRIN "KADDI" LEHMANN (GER)

Katrin klettert seit ca. 15 Jahren. Seitdem sie damit angefangen hat ist es nicht mehr aus ihrem Leben wegzudenken. Zu Beginn nahm sie erfolgreich an Lead- und Boulderwettkämpfen teil und landete immer auf dem Treppchen. Bei einer längeren Kletterreise nach der Schulzeit ist das Klettern am Fels zu ihrer Leidenschaft geworden. Am liebsten ist Kaddi zum Bouldern in Fontainebleau unterwegs - ihrer Lieblingskletterschule unter den Bouldergebieten, weil man da immer etwas dazulernen kann. Auch die Rocklands in Südafrika haben es ihr angetan. Es gibt dort so viele schöne Linien, neue Boulder zu entdecken und erstzubegehen.
Wenn Kaddi nicht am Fels unterwegs ist, dann schraubt sie gerne Boulder für Wettkämpfe. Sie ist offizielle DAV-Routenbauerin, schraubt aber auch für den normalen Hallenbetrieb oder für Funcups und hat schon öfters bei der Schweizer Bouldermeisterschaft mitgebastelt. Beim Routenbau mag sie am meisten die Kreativität. „Man kann etwas Cooles an die Wand bauen und ausprobieren. Es ist immer wieder spannend zu sehen, ob und wie ein Boulder von den Wettkämpfern gelöst werden kann. Es wird nie langweilig beim Klettern und Routenschrauben, weil es so viele verschiedene Bewegungen gibt. Kein Kletterzug ist wie der andere.“

TSUKURU HORI (JPN)

Tsukuru ist der zweite Routenbauer im Team, der adidas ROCKSTARS bereits als Profiathlet erlebt hat. 2013 wurde er Zehnter in Stuttgart. Tsukuru begann mit dem Klettern im Alter von elf Jahren. Seit über einem Jahrzehnt ist er Mitglied der japanischen Nationalmannschaft und konnte sich immer unter den Top 15 bei Weltcups oder Weltmeisterschaften platzieren. 2015 gewann er die Asian Continental Championships vor seinen talentierten jungen Teamkollegen Keita Watabe, Rei Sugimonto und Tomoa Narasaki. Mittlerweile hat sich der 28-jährige Japaner auch eine solide Grundlage für die Zeit nach seiner Wettkampfkarriere geschaffen. Er arbeitet nicht nur als Routenbauer sondern auch als Distributor für den Schweizer Griffhersteller Flathold. Die sagen über ihn: „Er hat ein sehr gutes Auge für Formen und weiß wie man diese im Training einsetzen kann. Er ist immer auf dem neuesten Stand. Auch wenn er in erster Linie ein Wettkampfkletterer ist, können sich seine Errungenschaften am Fels, wie Memento in Österreich oder Takakimikura in Japan (beide 8b+) ebenfalls sehen lassen.“